89.9 FM Live From The University Of New Mexico
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Candidates File For BernCo November Elections

Hannah Colton / KUNM

Forty-five people turned in paperwork Tuesday to run for office in a slew of local elections in Bernalillo County. Local government, education, and soil and water conservancy seats will all be on county ballots this November.

Due to recent changes in election law, this fall is the first time that Albuquerque city council and school board races happen at the same time as races in Tijeras, Los Ranchos and more.

Nathan Jaramillo with the Bernalillo County bureau of elections hopes that consolidation will get a lot more people to the polls.

“We’re projecting to see a jump of upwards of 20 percent for voter turnout," said Jaramillo, "because not only will it include the APS election, but also various tax questions and bond questions, so people will be turning out for that.”

In the APS board election, Madelyn Jones is running against incumbent Yolanda Montoya Cordova in District 1, the South Valley area. On the far northwest side, Lauretta Harris and Sergio Trujillo will challenge current District 2 board member Peggy Muller-Aragon. And for District 4 in southeast Albuquerque, Verland Coker and Laura Carlson are running against incumbent Barbara Petersen.

The board of education makes decisions about the district’s budget, policies and the superintendent’s job.

Candidates in the November 5, 2019 election: 

APS Board District 1

Yolanda M. Cordova

Madelyn A. Jones

APS Board District 2
Lauretta J. Harris
Peggy L. Muller-Aragon

APS Board District 4
Barbara E. Petersen
Laura W. Carlson
Verland O. Coker

City of Albuquerque District 2
Steven Baca

Joseph Griego
Zackary Quintero
Robert Raymond Blanquera Nelson
Isaac Benton
Connie Vigil

City of Albuquerque District 4
Athena Ann Christodoulou
Ane C. Romero
Brook L. Bassan

City of Albuquerque District 6
Patrick M. Davis
Gina Naomi Dennis

City of Albuquerque District 8
S. Maurreen Skowran
Trudy E. Jones

CNM Board District 2
James A. Chavez

CNM Board District 4
Annette Chavez y de la Cruz

CNM Board District 6
Layne E. McAdoo
Virginia Lopez Trujillo

Ciudad Soil and Water Conservation District – Position 1 Supervisor
Maria Christina Young

Ciudad Soil and Water Conservation District – Position 2 Supervisor
Thomas Ivey Allen

Ciudad Soil and Water Conservation District – Position 5 At-Large Supervisor
Daniel F. Lyon
Daniel A. Conklin

Albuquerque Metropolitan Arroyo Flood Control District 3 Director
Tim Eichenberg

Albuquerque Metropolitan Arroyo Flood Control District 4 Director
Ronald Duffield Brown

Los Ranchos de Albuquerque – Mayor

Donald T. Lopez

Los Ranchos Trustee District – Position 1

Diane E. Albert

Thomas S. Riccobene, Jr.

Los Rancho Trustee District – Position 2-3

Mary E. Homan

Allen L. Lewis

Sandra Lucia Pacheco

Paradise Hills Board Member District – Seat 1

Deanna T. Dopslaf

Paradise Hills Board Member District – Seat 2

Peter K. Reser

Village of Tijeras – Mayor

Jake E. Bruton

Gloria J. Chavez

Village of Tijeras Council District – Position 1-2

Jeffrey N. Claypool

Yvette Garcia

Don Johnson

Maxine Wilson

Hannah served as news director at KUNM and reported on education, Albuquerque politics, and anything public health-related. She died in November 2020.
Related Content